Masureel Art Factory – Lore Vanelslande
in 'Oasis', an exhibition by Bas Hendrikx

 

“Paper is patient,” wrote a 19th-century historian about the collections of Charles the Bold, who lived just a stone's throw from here, on the Mont des Arts. At Art on Paper we focus on art on paper and drawing. Due to the wide diversity of possibilities and applications, the art of drawing has not always had an easy time of it in the past and yet it can certainly be argued that it is the mother of all arts. Paper, which has been indispensable in our lives for centuries, has many different facets to it. Its poetic quality lies in the fragility of the material. It is an instrument for noting observations, designs, ideas and for fine arts. Nowhere else will you get closer to the signature of the creator. Paper won't blush.

MAF edition 1: Lore Vanelslande, Running With Light (RWL 101), classic wallcovering, non woven, 10.05 x 0.67 m/roll, 2017

Masureel has an extensive art collection, collected by Guy Verstraete, the driving force behind Masureel. Besides historic designs for wallpaper and textiles, the collection contains modern and contemporary art, with a major focus on works on paper dating from the twenties to the present day.

The idea for this exhibition has its roots in the collaboration between Masureel and Art on Paper. The spotlight is on the intimacy of the art of drawing, because no other medium better lends itself to being viewed so close to the creative process and the artist’s handwriting. Thanks to the medium’s versatility, the skin of the drawing and the sensitivity of art on paper are thrown into relief. Mankind’s relationship with its physical, cultural and natural surroundings is central here – expressed through the use of clusters of works from other artists who highlight the underlying relationship, context and process involved in the works.

Masureel is a family business producing top-quality wallcoverings. It is based in Hulste, a village in West Flanders province, and makes its products by combining innovation, quality and creativity. Besides designing wallcoverings for industry and private individuals, the Masureel Art Factory actively looks for artists it can work with. MAF invites them to experiment with wallpaper as a medium. This is a new way to take work on paper outside of the conventional frame, to establish a connection with the surroundings and become a part of the architecture.

Lore Vanelslande, Basic Matrix, ink on paper, 2016

The first MAF edition is Running With Light (2017) by Lore Vanelslande and features a series of five works: four classic wallpapers and a digital print on seven panels. In this series, Vanelslande (1983, Ieper) seeks to forge unity between consciousness and the nature of reality. The geometrical patterns, executed in white and pastel tones, create a combination of light, movement and reflection.

 

Bio: Bas Hendrikx is the artistic director of Art on Paper. In his role as curator he has organised exhibitions for Garage Rotterdam, CIAP in Hasselt, the Domijnen Museum in Sittard, Skulptur Bredelar, Marres Centre for Contemporary Culture in Maastricht and De Appel Arts Centre in Amsterdam. Bas is the founder of Kunsthalle Amsterdam. He writes regular features for catalogues and magazines and he is the editor of the book ‘Authenticity? Observations and Artistic Strategies in the Post-Digital Age’, published by Valiz.

Masureel Art Factory – Lore Vanelslande
dans 'Oasis', une exposition de Bas Hendrikx

 

« Le papier fait preuve de patience », écrivait un historien du 19e siècle à propos des collections de Charles le Téméraire qui se trouvaient en ce temps-là à un jet de pierre d’ici, au Mont des Arts. Chez Art on Paper, nous donnons la primauté à l’art sur papier et au dessin. En raison de la grande diversité de possibilités et d'applications, l'art du dessin n'a pas toujours été aussi facile historiquement, alors que l'on peut certainement affirmer qu'il est le père tous les arts. Indispensable dans nos vies depuis des siècles, le papier présente de multiples visages. Sa qualité poétique réside dans la fragilité de la matière. C'est un instrument d'observation, de conception, d'idées et de beaux-arts. Nulle part ailleurs, vous n'approchez d'aussi près l'écriture du créateur. Paper won’t blush.

MAF edition 1: Lore Vanelslande, Running With Light (RWL 101), classic wallcovering, non woven, 10.05 x 0.67 m/roll, 2017

Masureel possède une vaste collection d’œuvres d’art choisies par Guy Verstraete, la cheville ouvrière de Masureel. Outre des dessins historiques de papiers peints et tissus, la collection comprend des œuvres d’art moderne et contemporain, tout particulièrement des œuvres sur papier des années 20 à nos jours.
Cette exposition est le fruit de la collaboration entre Masureel et Art on Paper. Elle se concentre principalement sur l’intimité de l’art du dessin, car aucun autre medium ne se prête aussi bien à l’observation du processus de création et de l’écriture de l’auteur. La polyvalence de ce medium autorise la mise en valeur de la peau du dessin et de la sensibilité de l’art sur papier. La relation entre l’homme et son environnement physique, culturel et naturel est ici centrale et s’exprime par les regroupements d’œuvres d’un certain nombre d’artistes qui permettent de comprendre la réciprocité de la relation, du contexte et du processus des œuvres.

L’entreprise familiale Masureel produit du papier peint intissé de très grande qualité. Située à Hulste, en Flandre occidentale, Masureel se concentre sur la création de produits dont l’innovation, la qualité et la créativité sont les principaux piliers. Outre la production de revêtements muraux pour l’industrie et les particuliers, l’entreprise collabore également avec des artistes, sous le nom de Masureel Art Factory. MAF invite les artistes à utiliser le papier peint comme support ; une manière pour l’œuvre sur papier de sortir des cadres conventionnels, d’établir une relation avec l’environnement et de se transformer en élément architectural.

Lore Vanelslande, Basic Matrix, ink on paper, 2016

Running With Light (2017) de Lore Vanelslande est la première édition MAF. Elle se compose d’une série de cinq œuvres : quatre papiers peints classiques et une impression numérique sur sept panneaux. Pour cette série, Vanelslande (1983, Ypres) cherche à unifier conscience et nature de la réalité. Les motifs géométriques, exécutés dans des tons blancs et pastel, créent un jeu entre lumière, mouvement et réflexion.

 

Bio : Bas Hendrikx est le directeur artistique d’Art on Paper. En tant que curateur, il a monté des expositions pour Garage Rotterdam, le CIAP à Hasselt, le musée de Domijnen à Sittard, Skulptur Bredelar, le Marres centrum voor hedendaagse cultuur à Maastricht et De Appel arts centre à Amsterdam. Bas est le fondateur de la Kunsthalle d’Amsterdam. Il écrit régulièrement pour des catalogues et des magazines, il a également participé à la rédaction de l’ouvrage ‘Authenticity? Observations and Artistic Strategies in the Post-Digital Age’, publié chez Valiz.